Hamburger Pasty – Cabbage Pockets

freshly-baked-pattiesThis is a German/Russian  pasty (bëroks) recipe for cabbage, onions and hamburger baked in a bread pocket.  My good friend and card partner, Arlene, gave me this recipe back in 1974.  We made them for football games, tail-gate picnics, day trips, and card games.  They are loaded with black pepper and really go down well with mustard and a beer.  Our husbands loved them so there was rarely any leftover after a weekend of activities.  They’re also great right out of the oven or cold for lunch boxes and traveling.

Colorado and Nebraska have long histories of Russian and German immigrants who settled and worked the land into farms.  They were hardy people with hardy appetites who lived off the bounty of their farms; harvesting and grinding wheat for flour, raising and butchering animals, canning and preserving from the garden to the fruit orchards.  I have a very old cookbook written by the German/Russian Society in Loveland, Colorado that is chock-a-block full of fabulous vintage recipes.  I’ll do a book review later on – yes, it’s still in print.

Kraut Burgers

  • 2 lb hamburger meat
  • 1 large head of cabbage, shredded
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp ground black pepper
  • 1 recipe for 2 loaves basic white bread, or 2 loaves frozen bread dough

While bread dough is proofing, brown hamburger in a large stock pot or Dutch oven, add onions to sweat for 10 minutes, add cabbage and cook until wilted, add salt and pepper.  Continue cooking until cabbage and onions are done.  Drain in a colander and let cool.  Preheat oven to 350° F.  Roll out bread dough 1/3 inch thick, cut 16 squares (4 or 5 inches each).  Place 1 heaping spoonful (about 1/3 cup) of meat filling in center of dough square.  Bring opposite corners together and seal.  The buns should be oblong in shape.  Place filled buns on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake in center of oven until dark golden brown on top, 20-25 minutes.  Check the bottom crust for doneness, if not done, cover pockets loosely with foil and bake an additional 5-10 minutes.  Remove from baking sheet to a rack, brush with melted butter.  When completely cooled, place in a zip-lock bag and refrigerate.  These freeze well also.  Reheat in a 350° F oven for 10 – 15 minutes.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Hamburger Pasty – Cabbage Pockets”

  1. digitale optionen Says:

    My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day.

    Thanks!

  2. Tonya Says:

    My great-grandmother made this for family events when I was a kid. She passed away last year and I wanted to make them for an upcoming family dinner. It’s been years since I’ve had these. I’ve searched everywhere for the recipe; grandma called them krautbrook, but I am convinced these are the same thing. Thank you so much for posting.

    • JoAnn Says:

      Yes, kraut-bierocks is what the German/Russians in Colorado and Nebraska call these pockets. Hope your family enjoys them. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  3. Sybia Says:

    My friend Tonya Jo makes these…and they are THE BEST!!!!

    • JoAnn Says:

      Thanks for dropping by my blog. Try frozen bread dough when you’re in a hurry. Thaw the dough, roll it out, and stuff with the meat and cabbage. Bake per recipe. Enjoy!

  4. James Koopman Says:

    Just adding to my first post. It was probably 15 years ago when I ate a few and its been about that long since I last saw this person. I believe they were cold when I ate them and he said his mother had made them. He saied they were a German recipe.

  5. James Koopman Says:

    Thank You! I tried these before at a friends house. I loved them and have wondered how to make them ever since.

    • JoAnn Says:

      Yes, cabbage pockets are German/Russian in origin. I love them with Dijon mustard and a beer…hot or cold. Great for tail-gate picnics or SuperBowl Sunday.

Leave a Reply

