Pioneer Cookies

cookies 002

It is hot today in Las Vegas, too hot to bake, but I wanted something crunchy and chocolately  to go with a cup of coffee tonight.  This was almost a dissaster!!  I reached for the corn syrup and grabbed the almond extract instead.  By the time the fumes hit my nose, it was going into the pot.  These cookies of-course are no-bake cookies.  Well, the almond didn’t hurt them a bit, infact the chocolate stands out a bit  more.  I always add almond to my chocolate cakes with great results.  Anyway, this recipe is one I’ve made since I was a kid, standing next to mom in the kitchen.  These cookies take exactly 15 minutes to make from start to finish. 

I didn’t have any oatmeal, so I used fiber bran cereal.  They remind me of mortar with hay mixed in, like they did building log cabins in pioneer days.  So with that in mind, I’m calling these “pioneer cookies.”  Must be about time for a pow-wow… all day I’ve had an Indian war chant going through my head.  Can’t you picture bare chested men in feather head-dresses, stomping around a fire chanting hey-ya-ya while the drums are playing.  Where does this stuff come from… my zany thoughts? 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp corn syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla ( 1/2 tsp each almond and vanilla extracts)
  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 2 1/2 cups fiber bran cereal (or quick-cooking oatmeal)
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/2 chopped nuts of your choice

Method:

  1. Cook butter, sugar, cocoa, milk, and salt in a sauce pan or medium-high heat. 
  2. Bring to a boil and cook for 2 minutes while stirring constantly.
  3. Remove from heat.  Stir in peanut butter, vanilla, and corn syrup.
  4. Add bran or oats, coconut, and nuts.  Stir until all are well coated.
  5. Drop by tablespoon onto waxed paper and chill until firm.
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

