Pumpkin Pie From a Fresh Pumpkin

When I was a child nearly everything we ate came from raw ingredients or home-canned goodies.  I still remember canning with my mom and grinding venison trimmings from a deer my dad hunted.  Pumpkin jack-o-lanterns were always saved for Thanksgiving pumpkin pie so this recipe is reminiscent of my childhood and one I’ve used since my newlywed days.  Back then the water company sent out a little flyer with the monthly bills called Timely Cookery Tips and this recipe came in the October, 1968 flyer.  I was never a huge fan of pumpkin pies made with canned pumpkin and evaporated milk.  They taste like store-bought, a watery and spicy paste, but this pumpkin pie has creaminess, texture, and character your taste buds will savor.   more

Leave a Reply

